Tag: omnibus

Ravenor Omnibus by Dan Abnett – Review


If Eisenhorn was a story about a man surrounded by a capable team, then Ravenor is a story about a team led by a powerful man. If you’re even remotely curious about Ravenor and you haven’t read Eisenhorn, what are you doing here? Ravenor is the second trilogy in a trilogy of trilogies and that makes Eisenhorn a mandatory read. On the other hand, you can read the Ravenor novels as standalone novels, but the references will quickly go over your head. Some are references to previous books in the Eisenhorn trilogy, while some are simply references to the character’s past. With so many references, it helps to know where you’re coming from and where you’re going.

Ravenor Omnibus- Books Info

The Ravenor Omnibus collects 3 novels and 2 short stories having as the central theme the character of Ravenor, an Inquisitor of Ordos Xenos from the Warhammer 40K Universe. As always, Dan Abnett makes it easy to discard the Universe as a whole and focus on the Daniverse (read the preface for the origin of this term), a collection of lore built by himself inside Warhammer 40K – almost like a standalone universe written by one author.

Inside this huge omnibus, we find Ravenor, Ravenor Returned, and Ravenor Rogue as novels and Thorn Wishes Talon and Playing Patience as short stories. As mentioned just before, Ravenor novels are part of a series of novels called the Inquisitor series written by Dan Abnett, the other trilogies being Eisenhorn and Bequin (not yet completed). While you can read it as a standalone series, I truly recommend reading first the Eisenhorn trilogy. Not only does it cover a lot of ground on several characters from the Ravenor series, but also it’s one of Abnett’s finest written series.


Hero of the Imperium Omnibus by Sandy Mitchell – Review

hero of the imperium

The best time to run is just before you see the enemy. That is because you can still keep your heroic appearance if your soldiers won the battle. And if not, at least you get to live another day. And serve the Emperor in another war. But mostly you get to live. And that’s how a hero of the imperium is made.

The adventures of Ciaphas Cain, imperial commissar and unlikely hero, start in the Hero of the Imperium omnibus, where only the finest heroic tales are collected by your favorite inquisitor, someone you’ll soon meet in the first book.

Hero of the Imperium – quick overview

Hero of the Imperium omnibus, written by Sandy Mitchell, collects the first three novels in the Cain Ciaphas series, and a few short stories. Released for the first time in 2007, it contains the novels For the Emperor (published: 2003), Caves of Ice (2004), and The Traitor’s Hand (2005), as well as the short stories Fight or Flight, Echoes of the Tomb, and The Beguiling.

It is often said that this is the most humorous series of the Warhammer 40K Universe, and if you’ve only read Space Marines stories, you already know almost anything is more cheery than those guys. Cain, while still heroic by any standard, is very concerned about one thing: how to stay alive and look good doing it. People say it resembles Blackadder in space (Warhammer 40K Universe, more specifically), but as I never watched that series, I don’t know what to tell you.